I Want To Show You More / Jamie Quatro

This collection of fifteen stories was Jamie Quatro’s 2013 publishing debut. Her first novel is scheduled to be released this coming year. These short stories are set in and around Lookout Mountain, a community on the border of Georgia and Tennessee. She infuses them with a strong Southern ethos. Fearlessly addressed, her flawed protagonists deal with the entwined themes of religion, death, infidelity and God’s mercy.

Quatro’s stories are discomfortingly familiar as raw emotions are laid bare on the page. What keeps the book from seeming like “heavy” reading is the author’s comic and compassionate portrayals. Life’s complex and conflicted passions are the threads that join this collection together.

Jamie Quatro is a talent worth investigating. Be warned, however; beneath the placid, humorous surface of these stories, the cauldron of the human heart boils.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: