Stasis

Stasis.
Although this glass is half empty,
the bottle is half full.
I’m drowsy but not quite sleepy.
While the book’s plot
is fuzzy, its words have yet to blur.
Tomorrow’s no closer
or farther away than yesterday.
Full moon or no moon,
what difference does it make with
the curtain drawn.
I’m not the least bit curious to
get up and check.
Besides, I couldn’t move if I tried.
Not with your head
on my leg, and you and it asleep.
Whether my life has
turned out the way I imagined
is irrelevant tonight.
All that matters is, in my future,
I cannot conceive of
another I’d rather spend it with.
Stasis.

Leave a Reply

